The No Glory for Hate Act


January 27, 2021
Congressman Danny K. Davis (IL07) is an original co-sponsor of legislation led by Congresswoman Linda T. Sánchez (CA-38) to prevent federal projects, buildings, statues, or lands from being named after Donald J. Trump. HR 484, The No Glory for Hate Act, would prohibit the use of federal funds for any project commemorating a president twice impeached by the House of Representatives and would further restrict the benefits afforded them after leaving office.  

“For years, Donald Trump poured gasoline on lies, encouraging racism and hatred, then lit the match on January 6th. A president who has been impeached twice does not deserve the honors bestowed on a former president,” said Congresswoman Linda T. Sánchez. “We should never glorify the hatred Donald Trump personified as President. This bill ensures that there is no glory for hate – not a building, statue, or even a park bench.”

The No Glory for Hate Act prohibits the use of federal funds for any:
•          symbol,
•          monument,
•          structure,
•          building, or
•          public land…
…commemorating a former President twice impeached by the House of Representatives, or who has been convicted of a State or Federal crime relating to actions taken in an official capacity.
The bill also restricts the benefits given to former presidents who have been twice impeached by the House of Representatives, such as:
•          pension,
•          staff,
•          office
•          travel expenses, and
•          burial in Arlington National Cemetery.
Congresswoman Sánchez started this bill the day of Jan. 6 when she was barricaded inside a locked office, armed with only the baseball bats she plays the Congressional baseball game with.

“I remember getting the horrifying news that no one was coming to help us – that the National Guard had not gotten approval – while police officers were being beaten and overrun.  I thought, no one who stirs up this seditionist act should ever be held to the same high standards we hold for our former presidents who served with grace,” said Congresswoman Sánchez.

Congressman Davis stated, "The events of January 6th, the notion that anyone running for office, much less the current President of the United States, believes that they have the right to interrupt or nullify the most basic democratic principles of our electoral system, that they have the right to deny or interfere with the peaceful transition of power, that they have the right to incite insurrection to maintain elective office is so antithetical and so historically unfounded in our nation that we cannot just "move on" now that President Trump is out of office allow his months of attempting to deny the will of the American people to become precedent or acceptable.  Nor can we permit public resources to be used to commemorate or glorify in any positive manner such actions or individuals.``

HR 484 is co-sponsored by Representatives Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), André D. Carson (D-IN), Grace F. Napolitano (D-CA), Danny K. Davis (D-IL), Veronica Escobar (D-TX), Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Jahana Hayes (D-CT), Gerald E. Connolly (D-VA), Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), Alan Lowenthal (D-CA), Nikema Williams (D-GA), and Judy Chu (D-CA).