In The News Popular Categories


Davis Joins Letter to President Trump to Not Withhold Certification on Iran Nuclear Agreement

October 4, 2017
President Donald Trump
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue
Washington, DC 20500
Dear Mr. President:
We are writing to urge that you do not withhold certification on the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) absent credible evidence of a material breach by Iran.  Some of us voted for, and some against, the nuclear agreement with Iran.  Nonetheless, we are united in our belief that enforcing this agreement to the fullest extent will provide the United States with more leverage to stop a potential Iranian nuclear weapons program and push back on Iran's destabilizing activities. 
The Iran Nuclear Agreement Review Act (INARA) requires the President to provide to Congress credible evidence of Iranian noncompliance should violations of the JCPOA occur.  We have received no such information to date.  On the contrary, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and career U.S. military and intelligence officials continue to verify that Iran has honored its obligations under the agreement, and we remain unaware of any material change in Iranian activity since you last certified compliance to Congress on July 17. 
Absent credible and accurate information confirming a material breach, we are concerned that withholding certification of Iran's compliance or walking away from the JCPOA would harm our alliances, embolden Iran, and threaten U.S. national security.  We are further concerned that non-certification based on justifications beyond the scope of the nuclear agreement would threaten global non-proliferation efforts and send exactly the wrong message to North Korea at the moment we are trying to diplomatically defuse that crisis.  Countries should know that unless Iran commits a material breach of the JCPOA, the United States will keep its word.
We share concerns about Iran's activities in the region, including its ballistic missile development, support for proxies and terror groups, violations of the human rights of its people, and backing of the Assad regime.  That is why the Congress took the step of passing the Countering America's Adversaries Through Sanctions Act (CAATSA), which provides new tools to counter Iran's malign activities. 
We remain hopeful that with strong U.S. leadership, we can ensure vigorous enforcement of the JCPOA, as well as implementation of non-nuclear and multilateral sanctions, including CAATSA, to keep the American people secure and safeguard American interests.
David E. Price                                                Ted Deutch
Member of Congress                                      Member of Congress
Signatories include the following Members of the U.S. House of Representatives:
Adams, Alma
Aguilar, Pete
Barragan, Nanette Diaz
Bass, Karen
Beatty, Joyce
Bera, Ami
Beyer Jr., Donald S.
Bishop, Jr., Sanford D.
Blumenauer, Earl
Blunt Rochester, Lisa
Bonamici, Suzanne
Bordallo, Madeleine Z.
Brady, Robert
Brown, Anthony
Brownley, Julia
Bustos, Cheri
Butterfield, G.K.
Capuano, Michael E.
Carbajal, Salud O.
Cárdenas, Tony
Carson, Andre
Cartwright, Matt
Castor, Kathy
Castro, Joaquin
Chu, Judy
Cicilline, David N.
Clark, Katherine
Clarke, Yvette D.
Clay, William Lacy
Cleaver, II., Emanuel
Clyburn, James E.
Cohen, Steve
Coleman, Bonnie Watson
Connolly, Gerald E.
Conyers, Jr., John
Cooper, Jim
Costa, Jim
Courtney, Joe
Crist, Charlie
Crowley, Joseph
Cuellar, Henry
Cummings, Elijah E.
Davis, Danny K.
Davis, Susan
DeFazio, Peter A.
DeGette, Diana
Delaney, John K.
DeLauro, Rosa L.
DelBene, Suzan
Demings, Val
DeSaulnier, Mark
Deutch, Ted
Dingell, Debbie
Doggett, Lloyd
Doyle, Mike
Ellison, Keith
Engel, Eliot L.
Eshoo, Anna G.
Espaillat, Adriano
Esty, Elizabeth
Evans, Dwight
Foster, Bill
Frankel, Lois
Fudge, Marcia L.
Gabbard, Tulsi
Gallego, Ruben
Garamendi, John
Gomez, Jimmy
Green, Al
Green, Gene
Grijalva, Raul M.
Gutiérrez, Luis V.
Hanabusa, Colleen
Hastings, Alcee L.
Heck, Denny
Higgins, Brian
Himes, Jim
Hoyer, Steny H.
Huffman, Jared
Jackson Lee, Sheila
Jayapal, Pramila
Jeffries, Hakeem
Johnson, Eddie Bernice
Johnson, Hank
Kaptur, Marcy
Keating, William R.
Kelly, Robin L.
Kennedy, III, Joseph P.
Khanna, Ro
Kihuen, Ruben J.
Kildee, Dan
Kilmer, Derek
Krishnamoorthi, Raja
Kuster, Ann McLane
Langevin, Jim
Larsen, Rick
Larson, John
Lawrence, Brenda
Lawson, Alfred
Lee, Barbara
Levin, Sander
Lewis, John
Lieu, Ted W.
Loebsack, Dave
Lofgren, Zoe
Lowenthal, Alan
Lowey, Nita
Lujan Grisham, Michelle
Luján, Ben Ray
Lynch, Stephen F.
Maloney, Carolyn B.
Maloney, Sean Patrick
Matsui, Doris
McCollum, Betty
McEachin, A. Donald
McGovern, James P.
McNerney, Jerry
Meeks, Gregory W.
Meng, Grace
Moore, Gwen
Moulton, Seth
Nadler, Jerrold
Neal, Richard
Nolan, Rick
Norcross, Donald
Norton, Eleanor Holmes
O'Rourke, Beto
Pallone Jr., Frank
Panetta, Jimmy
Pascrell Jr., Bill
Payne Jr., Donald
Pelosi, Nancy
Perlmutter, Ed
Peters, Scott H.
Pingree, Chellie
Plaskett, Stacey
Pocan, Mark
Polis, Jared
Price, David E.
Quigley, Mike
Raskin, Jamie
Rice, Kathleen
Richmond, Cedric
Rosen, Jacky
Roybal-Allard, Lucille
Ruiz, Raul
Ruppersberger, Dutch
Rush, Bobby L.
Ryan, Tim
Sablan, Gregorio Kilili Camacho
Sánchez, Linda T.
Sarbanes, John
Schakowsky, Jan
Schiff, Adam
Schrader, Kurt
Scott, David
Scott, Robert C. "Bobby"
Serrano, José E.
Sewell, Terri
Shea-Porter, Carol
Sires, Albio
Slaughter, Louise M.
Smith, Smith
Soto, Darren
Speier, Jackie
Suozzi, Thomas R.
Swalwell, Eric
Takano, Mark
Thompson, Bennie G.
Thompson, Mike
Titus, Dina
Tonko, Paul D.
Torres, Norma J.
Tsongas, Niki
Veasey, Marc
Velázquez, Nydia
Visclosky, Peter J.
Walz, Tim
Wasserman Schultz, Debbie
Welch, Peter
Wilson, Frederica S.
Yarmuth, John
  • Office Locations

    Office Name Location Image Map URL
    Washington DC 2159 Rayburn House Office Building
    Washington, DC 20515
    p. (202) 225-5006
    f. (202) 225-5641
    Chicago Office 2815 W. Fifth Avenue
    Chicago, Illinois 60612
    p. (773) 533-7520
    f. (844) 274-0426

    How to use: Insert <span class="EXACT_VALUE_LABEL_AS_ENTERED_BELOW">&nbsp;</span> where you'd like the value to be populated.

    Non-breaking space within span tags - &nbsp; - is required for WYSIWYG.

    (no spaces or special characters)


    Comments (optional)
    repName Danny K. Davis  
    helpWithFedAgencyAddress Chicago District Office
    2813-15 W. Fifth Avenue
    Chicago, Illinois 60612
    district 7th District of Illinois  
    academyUSCitizenDate July 1, 2017  
    academyAgeDate July 1, 2017  
    academyApplicationDueDate October 20, 2017  
    repStateABBR Il  
    repDistrict 7  
    repState Illinois  
    repDistrictText 7th  
    SponsoredBills Sponsored Bills  
    CoSponsoredBills Co-Sponsored Bills